Saturday, January 8, 2011

The Twelveth Day of Christmas

On Wednesday, January 5th, the 12th Day (last day) of Christmas, I made æbelskivers and took them to our Wednesday Division Meeting at work. This is the pan that you use to make them. It can also be an aluminum pan now. This is a cast iron pan.
Dear Anne-Mette in Copenhagen: I am sorry, I forgot to tell everyone that Copenhagen is not the "capitol of Oslo".
American knowledge of Scandinavia is just bizare. Here is a nutshell version:
There are 3 Scandinavian countries & capitols:
1. Denmark: Copenhagen
2. Norway: Oslo (formerly called Christianshavn)
3. Sweden: Stockholm
There are 5 NORDIC countries. They are the 3 Scandinavian countries listed above, plus:
4. Finland: Helsinki
5. Iceland: Reykjavik
Some of you are thinking "Where does Greenland fit in? I thought it was a Scandinavian country?.
Well, you are right. It is a Scandinavian country.
Answer this question and you will find the answer: What country in Western Europe has the largest land mass?
Answer: "The Kingdom of Denmark" (which includes the largest island in the world, Greenland."
Greenland is part of "The Kingdom of Denmark". We do not use the British word "home rule" but what exists is close to it.
You may also not know that "The Kingdom of Denmark" includes islands off the coast of Scotland called the Faroe Islands. They send their own representatives to the Danish Parliament. People in the Faroe Islands are considered by mainland "Denmarkers" to be very conservative. You will not find any nude beaches in the Faroe Islands, while all the beaches in "Denmark proper" were recently ruled BOTH, and no discintion could be made. If you go to Copenhagen beaches and are offended by the bare breasts or bare bottoms, there is no one to complain to. ;-)

1 comment:

Kelli Nørgaard said...

I love this post because 1) Now I know when the "12th day of Christmas" is! :-) and 2) because it drives me crazy when people call Finland a Scandinavian country!